A review of DStv Mobile on the Nokia 5330 Mobile TV Edition

A review of DStv Mobile on the Nokia 5330 Mobile TV Edition 1From Ghana-based Nigerian blogger and entrepreneur, Oluniyi David Ajao:

I obtained the Nokia 5330 Mobile TV Edition from MTN Ghana in Accra for 270 Ghana Cedis (about $193). The 5330 obtained directly from MTN comes with a complimentary DStv Mobile license valid 31st March 2011. Activating the service with MTN Ghana was a herculean task. At the time of buying the device, the DStv Mobile service was down and so the service could not be activated by MTN support staff. Subsequent calls to their customer service number yielded nothing as they insisted they could not give me the settings on phone. Incidentally, I arrived Lagos Nigeria a few days later. MTN Nigeria pushed their internet settings to the phone as soon as I inserted an MTN Nigeria SIM into the 5330. I accepted and activated the MTN NG internet settings. On my way out of the airport, I simply re-scanned the airwaves and was able to easily activate the DStv Mobile service on my own. NTA International was soon beamed to me from the tiny screens of the 5330.

Read the full review on Oluniyi’s personal blog: A review of DStv Mobile and Nokia 5330 Mobile TV Edition.

  • download,facebook for nokia 5330 dstv edition
  • nokia 5330 mobile tv edition download apps
  • nokia 5330 mobile tv edition is a good dstv phone
  • nokia 5330 price in ghana

Mister Mobility

I started blogging about mobile in 2004 as a fun way to share my passion for gadgets and mobile services. My other interests include digital media, speaking and teaching, photography, travelling, and dancing.

23 thoughts on “A review of DStv Mobile on the Nokia 5330 Mobile TV Edition

  • June 21, 2010 at 12:18 pm
    Permalink

    Bought one for my boss last week. Activation was a breeze and in 20 mins was able to watch the first half of Nigeria-Greece match while been driven round Abuja looking for other merchandise. It was a big thrill, really boosted by the fact that I was initially sad I wouldn’t be able to watch the match, then to watch first half including that famous Kaita ‘kung fu’ kick….

    I must say though that the phone is really basic. Without the Mobile TV the phone has little else to offer. With the little time I had to fiddle with the phone, it doesn’t even seem to have Bluetooth, 3G and WiFi. On the good side, I love the price and for the chance of watching that famous kick! I dare say my boss (who could easily afford better and more expensive phones) is attracted by the Mobile TV too.

  • June 21, 2010 at 1:23 pm
    Permalink

    The phone is a simple feature phone with 2.4’, 3.5mm audio jack (now you can use ur own dedicated headphones), microSD, up to 16GB, 1GB included, 3.15 MP with LED flash and FM radio and it has Bluetooth, 3G but NO WIFI.

    This is a good advancement from the former ZTE phone

    But the one that catches my attention is the Nokia TV receiver which you can get for just 15,000 and gives you DSTV on selected nokia phones with MTN (Nokia 5530, 5800, 6220, E75, N73,N85,N86 8MP, N97 and his junior brother N97 mini) and also free till March 2011.

  • June 21, 2010 at 1:49 pm
    Permalink

    @yomi,
    1)can one connect the dstv mobile to a televisions thru the usb.
    2) can the dstv mobile work with nokia pc suit/ ovi suit as a moderm for using the phone as a mordem.
    Thanks.

  • June 21, 2010 at 6:41 pm
    Permalink

    I believe the phone or the nokia tuner can’t be used without a 3g network which unfortunately is not available everywhere.

    Just thinking about this. Nokia 5800 connects to the nokia tuner via usb slot. While watching your dstv, just plug in your tv out cable and connect to your tv. Voila! You have a real dstv in your house without a dish and its free till march 2010.

  • June 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm
    Permalink

    @ all,
    Pls can someone tell me if there is 3G service in the North Eastern Nigeria either of MTN or GLO?

  • June 21, 2010 at 9:15 pm
    Permalink

    deoladoctor,

    A point of correction to your submission:

    I believe the phone or the nokia tuner can’t be used without a 3g network which unfortunately is not available everywhere.

    DStv mobile service is not 3G-based. It is based on DVB-H, a technical specification for bringing broadcast services to mobile handsets.

    If anyone is unable to access DStv Mobile, it is because that person is outside of DVB-H coverage.

  • June 21, 2010 at 9:25 pm
    Permalink

    Igoma,

    1)can one connect the dstv mobile to a televisions thru the usb.

    Nope. Won’t work. However, if the phone had a TV-out cable, you could do that and enjoy your shows on big screen.

    2) can the dstv mobile work with nokia pc suit/ ovi suit as a moderm for using the phone as a mordem.

    The official manual mentions modem functionality via Bluetooth only, and I quote: “You can use your phone as a modem by connecting it to a compatible PC using Bluetooth technology.”

    The USB data cable section of the manual does not mention modem functioonality at all.

    I recommend that you put your 2nd question to Mr. Oluniyi Ajao on his blog (see the link in the main article above)

  • June 21, 2010 at 10:36 pm
    Permalink

    @Yomi

    Thanks for enlightening me on that. So hope is not lost yet for those of us in the ‘bush’ without 3g. Market force may drive them to install DVB-H broadcast one of these days.

  • June 21, 2010 at 11:03 pm
    Permalink

    ‘Nope. Won’t work. However, if the phone had a TV-out cable, you could do that and enjoy your shows on big screen.’

    From what I saw, the resolution quite low. Unless the tv is 14″ or less I doubt the the output will be pleasing. Just for the kicks you could try though.

  • June 27, 2010 at 10:59 am
    Permalink

    Am using Nokia 5230 phone.Pls is it possible for me to downkoad DSTV software to my phone.pls help…

  • July 29, 2010 at 12:18 am
    Permalink

    Olivine,

    The service is free on the MTN network from now till March 2011…

    From: DSTV Mobile from MTN

    Activation can be done right on the handset itself. From the excerpt above:

    Incidentally, I arrived Lagos Nigeria a few days later. MTN Nigeria pushed their internet settings to the phone as soon as I inserted an MTN Nigeria SIM into the 5330. I accepted and activated the MTN NG internet settings. On my way out of the airport, I simply re-scanned the airwaves and was able to easily activate the DStv Mobile service on my own.

  • August 27, 2010 at 3:19 am
    Permalink

    pls, i want to know what the subscription fee would be by march 2011

  • September 26, 2010 at 6:19 pm
    Permalink

    hello guys
    Is there a software that cud make dstv mobile to work on a windows mobile device or E series phone?

  • November 1, 2010 at 11:00 pm
    Permalink

    pls can anyone tell me how i can get dstv mobile on my nokia 5530 thank you

  • November 21, 2010 at 6:35 pm
    Permalink

    My sagem MYx-8 has DVB-h, how can i watch DSTV mobile tv on it.
    Secondly the phone is coded with limited downloading length that is cannot download more than certain kilobite, once its more than that it will not download, so what can i do to remove the coded kilobit on it

Leave a Reply

Advertisements
Advertisements