2016 Finalists announced for the West Africa Mobile Awards

Posted by

The 2016 shortlisted finalists for the West Africa Mobile Awards (WAMAS), the first truly West African technology awards to recognise the region’s leading mobile and tech companies, have been announced today. An overwhelming response drew submissions from 10 countries across 3 continents. Entrants (and finalists) run the gamut from exciting mobile industry start-ups pioneering new technologies and services, to established ventures driving progress in the region.

The 2016 WAMAS are supported by Twitter, Ad Dynamo, Mobile West Africa (MWA), AppsAfrica.com, the Mobile Ecosystem Forum (MEF), and many other industry-leading organisations and publications. Applications were accepted across 10 mobile industry categories including eCommerce, mobile money, entertainment, mobile app, and brand development.

Celebrate (WAMAS)

A prestigious judging panel featuring industry experts from Airtel, Opera, iSpace Foundation, and CcHUB worked together to down-select from the many worthy entries and create the shortlist.

The shortlisted finalists by category:

Mobile App & Game Award
ASA, PayWithCapture, Flippy Campus, PrepUp, and MOVII Company

Brand Development on Mobile
Pepsi Naija, CloseUp Big Win, ShoOwer, The Mobi Hunter, and Omo

Young Gun of the Year Award
Timothy Adeleye (Glo Mobile School), Andrew Takyi-Appiah (Zeepay) Olatunde Ayilara (WaraCake), Olugbenga Agboola (PayWithCapture), and Bamal Samuel Aymard (ShoOwer)

Innovation in the Industry Award
Opera Max, Pass.ng, Asoriba, Unilever, and mPedigree Goldkeys

Social Entertainment & News Award
Sangalo Media, Amebo App, Glo Twitter Voice App, Video Messaging Service, and Cloud Interactive Associates Football

Societal Development Award
Esoko, SpellAfrica Initiative, Cellulant E Wallet, Revoda, and U-Report Nigeria

Educational & Personal Development Award
Worldreader Mobile, Pass.ng, Spell Africa Initiative, Skademy, and Tuteria

Outstanding Industry Achievement Award
Cellulant E Wallet, Opera Mini, Eskimi DSP, Jason Njoku, and Jobberman.com

Commerce & Retail Award
Obiwezy, Taja, CommercePointe, PayWithCapture, and Tisu Ghana

Money Banking & Financial
Diamond Bank Mobile App, SimplePay, OsusuMobile, Money Tips, and PayWithCapture

All shortlisted companies will be celebrated during an awards gala at Rooftop in Lagos on the evening of April 21st. The overall category winners will also be announced during the ceremony.

Full details can be found at wamas.com.ng.


  1. Nothing concerning tech website of the year?
    Or tech personality of the year.
    Thats a big omission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *