Hands-on review and photo gallery: TECNO Phantom 5

I know you guys have been itching to have a closer look at the new TECNO Phantom 5. It has been a busy week for me here at MobilityArena.com, but I finally got to doing this. The Phantom 5 really is a well-crafted and gorgeous device that I fell in love with immediately.

Here are my impressions after using it for four (4) days:

  1. This a beautifully crafted, all-metal smartphone that turns heads everywhere I have taken it.
  2. The 5.5-inch display is vivid, smooth and very fluid.
  3. The fingerprint scanner works like a charm. From sleep state, I put my finger on the scanner and the phone wakes up. No more tapping and swiping to wake up a phone. It is so much more convenient. You can programme up to ten (10) different fingerprints.
  4. Audio from both the rear loudspeaker and bundled headphones is amazing. You know I am a sucker for great sounding music. Volume is very loud too. TECNO outdid itself here.
  5. So far, the rear camera has been impressive too. I never expected this grade of photos, considering TECNO’s history with photography. I will be taking it for a spin and then bring you sample photos.
  6. The Phantom 5 is zippy in use. The octa-core processor and 3GB RAM combination works well.
  7. It is dual SIM and also 4G/LTE compliant: I have my regular mobile line and my Smile 4G data SIM in it. It is my first time of using 4G on any smartphone, and it has been a blissful experience.
  8. Battery life: Very good. The Phantom 5 easily sees me through a day without 4G. With 4G on and active,battery life is sure to drop. I can’t give figures now, as I only just put my 4G SIM inside about 36 hours ago.
Also read:  Our mobile phones; Our love lives

Quick Summary
The Phantom 5 is a paradigm shift for TECNO. This is unlike any other TECNO you have ever used. I am amazed and I am impressed. And, yes, I am keeping this baby for a long, long time.

Here is a gallery detailing the phone from all angles. I hope that you enjoy them.

Phantom 5 pack half-open

Phantom 5 unsealed

Phantom 5 top angle

Phantom 5 top perspective

Phantom 5 homescreen

Phantom 5 App Drawer

Phantom 5 About menu

Phantom 5 Dropdown Menu

Phantom 5 rear top

Phantom 5 camera fingerprint scanner

Phantom 5 rear Dolby Speaker

Get the full TECNO Phantom 5 specifications.

  • photos du menu du tecno phantom 8
  • tecno c8 nairaland june 2018

Mister Mobility

I started blogging about mobile in 2004 as a fun way to share my passion for gadgets and mobile services. My other interests include digital media, speaking and teaching, photography, travelling, and dancing.

47 thoughts on “Hands-on review and photo gallery: TECNO Phantom 5

  • September 18, 2015 at 1:00 pm
    Permalink

    Super sleek fresh. I’m a sucker for music too, I can’t wait to buy mine.

    • September 18, 2015 at 1:07 pm
      Permalink

      You want to buy? when you can just steal Mister Mobs own. He must have pimped it finish by now. No time. His PT5 is for steal.

    • September 18, 2015 at 2:51 pm
      Permalink

      lol…. you better be quick cause it might have finished before you done saving

    • September 18, 2015 at 3:00 pm
      Permalink

      oya start saving up

  • September 18, 2015 at 1:03 pm
    Permalink

    Mister Mobility, where do you live? I want to steal your PT5 with your 4G LTE Smile sim in it. Hehe! 😀

    • September 18, 2015 at 2:53 pm
      Permalink

      lol…..ole
      go get yours oooo and let mister mo rest in peace

    • September 18, 2015 at 3:06 pm
      Permalink

      ahhhh stop it and go buy yours ooooo

    • September 18, 2015 at 4:25 pm
      Permalink

      But Mister Mo, why? I love this thing I see in your hand na.

  • September 18, 2015 at 1:09 pm
    Permalink

    Well, I’m still surprised Tecno did this… Still very surprised. I thought they already gave all their shot with the Camon but to think there was still a boat rocker. hmmm… Nice.

    • September 18, 2015 at 2:55 pm
      Permalink

      hehe….am really not suprised, i saw this coming
      tecno already steped up their game

    • September 18, 2015 at 3:09 pm
      Permalink

      same here tooo, taught camon c8 will be their last amazing phone but here is the super phantom 5

    • September 18, 2015 at 4:21 pm
      Permalink

      LMAO! The guy says “super”, it is though. Super!

    • September 18, 2015 at 2:48 pm
      Permalink

      yea you can say that again

    • September 18, 2015 at 3:10 pm
      Permalink

      yes oooo, it is marvelous

  • September 18, 2015 at 1:31 pm
    Permalink

    meehnn… The phone is sharp but, oops…the price is damn SCARY! Am taking to my heels ooooooooo!

    • September 18, 2015 at 3:11 pm
      Permalink

      lol…..
      come on just save up and get it

    • September 18, 2015 at 4:10 pm
      Permalink

      You don’t expect the price anything less than na, it’s even a shocker to have it at 70k. Show me a finger print sensor-ed phone, and I would show you it’s about a 100k+.

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:30 pm
      Permalink

      sorry ooooo
      i would get it even at an higher price

    • September 18, 2015 at 4:26 pm
      Permalink

      I really do. I really really do too.

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:31 pm
      Permalink

      you can say that again

  • September 18, 2015 at 2:52 pm
    Permalink

    Wait first, Which phone took the photos of the PT5 above. Its so crispy clear.

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:39 pm
      Permalink

      i guess it is the camon c8

  • September 18, 2015 at 4:15 pm
    Permalink

    Mr Mo, I have one question. Is the internal memory partitioned?

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:42 pm
      Permalink

      hmmm…. am not mr mo but i guess it is not

  • September 18, 2015 at 4:16 pm
    Permalink

    A part of me knew these guys were up to something fantastic, I just knew a combination of BOOM J and Camon C would enter into one phone. And baaam! it happens. Nicely done.

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:43 pm
      Permalink

      lol..
      that part of you that said this didnt lie

  • September 18, 2015 at 5:30 pm
    Permalink

    Something tells me that Tecno marketers have highjacked this post…. However, the phone looks great but the pricing seems to be on the high side. I would love to see a comparison of the PT5 to one plus 2 or Asus zenfone 2.

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:45 pm
      Permalink

      yea sure it is high but to high minded people i think it is affordable

  • September 18, 2015 at 5:43 pm
    Permalink

    I will wait till next year July for d price to come down to get 2 for & my wife

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:52 pm
      Permalink

      lol,,,,,,
      you must be a yoruba man..
      happy waiting bro….

    • September 18, 2015 at 10:46 pm
      Permalink

      Valid. Wait for it to come down before buying.

  • September 18, 2015 at 6:51 pm
    Permalink

    Phone looks sleek but the angles are rather on the sharp side,hope the ergonomics is user friendly..

    • September 18, 2015 at 7:59 pm
      Permalink

      people will always see something bad to say

    • September 18, 2015 at 10:40 pm
      Permalink

      Shey? I personally prefer a curve around edges of phones. Not all angles.

    • September 19, 2015 at 12:45 pm
      Permalink

      …tell us, which ”ergonomics” is user friendly? Samsung s6…that slips off your palms if you dont hold it properly or use a pouch? Or blackberry passport, which you cant actually operate comfortably with one hand? Or LG G3/4 that has lock and unlock buttons at the back of the phone??

      All phones are designed differently…you will get used to it. Shikena!

  • September 18, 2015 at 9:30 pm
    Permalink

    Like someone said, seems tecno marketers have high jacked this post, you need to hear the true response from people on nairaland. FYI, there are cheaper phones with finger print reader, ELEPHONE has some.

    • September 18, 2015 at 10:39 pm
      Permalink

      What’s the memory like? Can’t seem to remember seeing it anywhere.

    • September 18, 2015 at 10:50 pm
      Permalink

      32GB inbuilt

    • September 18, 2015 at 10:45 pm
      Permalink

      I do not think the phone e price is over the top. It obviously wasn’t created for people like me. So me with 50k would probably get something around that range. But if I did have 70k. I would not mind spending it on the PT 5.

  • September 19, 2015 at 9:30 pm
    Permalink

    Thanks to Mr Moverick…I finally got it today. After hours of usage..I can boldly say and I stand to be corrected but with apology to no one..The PT 5 well worth the price..

  • September 22, 2015 at 7:28 am
    Permalink

    as for me n myself, the phone is ugly and overpriced. if u disagree, ur bizwax, c transformer over there!!

    • September 25, 2015 at 11:31 am
      Permalink

      The phone is ugly ke? Phone that everyone is saying looks like HTC is ugly? Ah! I don’t think you have an idea what futuristic designs look like then, you’ld call them ugly.

  • September 22, 2015 at 5:39 pm
    Permalink

    Mr. Mo

    Can I borrow this phone from you for just 2 Days pere! I swear by em…em… I go return am sharpaly sharpaly…

  • November 18, 2015 at 8:46 pm
    Permalink

    Wow what an awesome review you have got here. This phone is truly awesome and amazing. I love the phantom 5

Leave a Reply

Advertisements
Advertisements