Self deleting emails are a great feature that a lot of people have wanted for a while. The feature, which Google calls Confidential Mode, lets you send emails that auto-expire or auto-delete after a pre-set period. It has been available on Gmail desktop for a while, and now it is also available on mobile devices, so you can send on your smartphone.
If you need to send sensitive information, you will find Gmail Confidential Mode very useful. It lets you send mails and attachments confidentially. Confidential messages cannot be copied, pasted, downloaded, printed, or forwarded by the recipient. Note that they may be able to take a screenshot though or even take a picture of it.
Still, it is a nifty feature. There is no 100% secure feature anywhere.
How Gmail’s Self Deleting Emails Work
Open your email composition box, tap or click the Confidential Mode icon, set an expiration date, decide whether the email recipient will require an SMS passcode or not, compose your mail and attch any files, then send.
The expiry options that you can set include: 1 day, 1 week, 1 month, 3 months, and 5 years. We would have loved to see 24 hours too. Maybe even 6 hours as well.
You can also revoke access at any time, even after sending. Just go into your Sent folder, open the confidential email and tap Remove access at the bottom of the screen.
Note also that you will be unable to use Confidential Mode if you are still using classic Gmail via your web browser. This new self deleting emails is not available yet for G Suite customers.
If you need a more detailed guide, follow this Gmail Help guide.