Here’s how to perform a PlayStation 4 factory reset

There are times when you might want to start from scratch with your PlayStation 4. Perhaps you want to upgrade to the PS4 Pro, or there is an error you are trying to fix. Or maybe you are having trouble testing the latest PlayStation software update. In any of these cases, you will need to know how to properly perform a proper PlayStation 4 factory reset.

A factory reset wipes the console’s hard drive and can remove its system software. Consider it a last resort, for when a software glitch completely freezes the console, or when you need to make sure that it contains absolutely none of your data. There are two ways to perform a PlayStation 4 factory reset. You can either go through the PS 4 dashboard, or you can go through Safe Mode, which you should consider if the console is having boot-up issues. Before you do any of these, however, make sure you back up your data, either to an external hard drive or to the cloud.

HOW TO PERFORM A PLAYSTATION 4 FACTORY RESET FROM THE DASHBOARDPlayStation 4 factory reset

  • First of all, sign in to your Settings menu, then deactivate your PlayStation account. First, deactivate the machine as your primary PlayStation 4 by going to PlayStation Network/Account Management. Find the Activate as your primary PS4 option, then select Deactivate.
  • Sign back in u=with your user account, which is different from your PS4 account. Then go to Settings > Initialization, and find the Initialize PS4 option. The first option will clear your saved settings data and return your PS4 to the factory state, but will not wipe the hard drive. The second option will clear your hard drive of data, including downloaded games and anything else you might have added to the console. Select this option, labeled Full, and allow the console do its work. At the end, it will be exactly as it was when you first bought it from the store.

HOW TO PERFORM A PLAYSTATION 4 FACTORY RESET IN SAFE MODE

If you have issues with the system software or other errors that prevent you from getting to the settings menu, you can still go through Safe Mode. Here’s what to do:

  • Turn your PS4 completely off. Make sure it is not in Rest Mode, but completely off. Then hold down the power button until you hear two beeps. You willrecognize Safe Mode by the black background.
  • Choose the reset option you need. Here you can choose either Restore Default Settings or Initialize PS4 to wipe the hard drive and restore to factory settings while keeping the system software. You also get the option to Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software), which requires you to reinstall the PS4’s operating system.
  • If you are not having software problems, simply select Initialize PS4. This will wipe the hard drive and restore the console to factory settings, but it will leave the system software intact. You can choose between Quick and Full initializations.
re

Speak Your Mind. Have Your Say.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *